Te Tau Ihu

About the Region

Rohe Delegate/ Rohe Chairman:

Dayveen Stephens

Rohe Committee:

Te Tau Ihu o Te Waka o Maui Māori Culture Council

There are eight Iwi in Te Tau Ihu:

Ngāti Kuia


Ngāti Apa, 

Ngāti Koata, 

Ngāti Rārua,

 Ngāti Tama, 

Te Āti Awa, 

Ngāti Toa. 

The Māori population residing in Te Tauihu is just under 20% of the total regional population.  The region spreads across 3 District Councils.

Kapa Haka in the region has evolved over the past 40 years. And within the past 10 years the focus has been on developing strategies to increase more competitive groups.   


Responsibility to your Rohe:

Te Tau Ihu o Te Waka a Maui Māori Culture Council provides opportunities to promote and develop Kapa Haka in Te Tauihu.


Rohe boundaries:

Nelson / Tasman /Blenheim / Picton


Click here to see your contacts for this region ›

Learn more

Find out more about the Te Tau Ihu region.